I'm currently studying Godot engine

Godot 3.5.3

Hello. I’m studying the Godot engine and created a test room specifically for this purpose.

3 Likes

Looks nice. What can you share about you process?

What did you learn that you wish you knew earlier?

What was your biggest challenge?

1 Like

Thanks. My goal is to make unrealistic, at least slightly pleasant 3D graphics in Godot, acceptable for both large and small spaces within the game world. The screenshot shows a lightmap without dynamic lighting.

Well, in general, I already knew a lot, because I switched to Godot from Unity3D. I would like to know in advance that there is no shadowmask\distance shadowmask in godot. :sweat_smile:

The hardest thing was to understand what post-processing shaders needed to be written to improve the graphics. :thinking:

2 Likes

I have almost completed a module for blender that automates manipulations with image nodes. It simulates layers using texture masks. Using the module, I can quickly add layers, enable/disable layers, change the resolution of masks, change the tiling of surface textures, select brush settings to add or remove a mask, change the order of layers, switch to drawing surface textures, and most importantly, I can export the result to in the form of a Godot surface shader along with textures.

I’m only using albedo textures for now, but it’s not hard to add other types of textures if needed. :sunglasses:

Thats pretty sweet. Is it intended for use in conjunction with Godot specifically? Or a more general audience as well?

Hi. I made the module for myself because I was tired of moving nodes manually. I hope this will help me in the future.:slightly_smiling_face:

The only thing related to Godot is the shader export function, but I can write another export function to another engine(or whatever) if necessary.