My first YT Tutorial: Custom Nodes using GDScript!

Hi folks! I’ve tried my hand at creating a YT tutorial for Godot. My review? It’s hard! Looking forward to your feedback:

6 Likes

To keep the video on point, use the simplest example possible to illustrate the lesson.
Just because you keep using the term “node” over and over again doesn’t mean that you’re explaining anything. I’m fairly new to Godot and was VERY confused over nodes in the beginning. This sort of video would have confused me more.

1. Explain what a Node is.
  2. Explain the different between non-custom vs custom nodes.
  3. Add the nodes and customize them.

Showing the desired end game in the beginning is fine, but there’s a LOT going on in your bomb scene to throw it all out in shotgun form like that. I’m working on my game and getting functionality going but haven’t gotten into animations, timers, or sound. By 1:03, I was lost.

I agree. Teaching is HARD. I’ve taught 6 drivers how to drive. 4 of my own kids (2 more soon) to drive a car as well as being on a teaching staff to teach drivers how to drive a semi. (I’ve driven semis for 18 years.) There are so many things we do intuitively based on years of experience that it’s easy to forget that someone new who needs your lesson doesn’t have that level of intuition or experience to draw on.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback @tesfalcon! I admit that you might not be the target audience for the video.

As far as I’m aware, there are a fair number of videos already explaining Godot step-by-step (think, like, the 11-hour all-in-one tutorials). While these kind of videos are really important, they’re not the kind of video I want to make. My inspiration is tending more towards something like Ian Huberts short form videosS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58lc8sLpJzY