Godot 4 compatibility mode for linux

Godot Version

Godot 4.3 dev5 linux.x86_64

Question

Hello. I used to use godot 4 on Windows 10, but some time ago I had switched to Linux, to be more precise, to Ubuntu Budgie 23.10 x86_64. When I switched, I immediately downloaded the same version of Godot I had been using for the last months. However, I can normally open the project manager, but when I try to open a project, it crash after load the editor, even in compatibility mode and even in a new project. When I researched, I only found people who cannot use Godot because their computers do not support that. Why could my computer run Godot 4 normally on Windows 10 but not on Ubuntu?
If it’s just a driver problem or something like this, I’m already going to apologize and delete this topic. I am new to the Linux world and I’m a little confused.

note: If I try to open it through ubuntu terminal, it returns the “FATAL: Index p_index = 1 is out of bounds (size() = 0).” error.
note2: my godot4 version is v4.2.1 stable official. I had tried to open it with godot 4.3 beta, but the same thing happens.

Since now, thanks for every help!

did you download the AppImage version?

are you using X11/Xorg or Wayland? you can see it in the login screen, on a button on the page where you can chsnge your password.

Gosot runs on the older and insecure X11, and it needs a compatibility layer for yhe newer Wayland, called Xwayland, I don’t know whether Ubuntu comes with Xwayland

unrelated to Godot but to Linux

if you came to Linux because it’s free and open source software, I’m sorry but you were fooled: Ubuntu uses a strong, proprietary software underlying its system, making its app store a mess, and trying (and failing to) monopolize the Linux packaging industry, with their package manager snap. it also prohibits their child distros and users to use packages which are not snap, including blocking Flatpaks, the competing and open source, package manager.