How to make a grid based moving system

Godot ver 4.1

I’m trying to make a grid based moving system, where pressing up once moves you up one row, and down moves you down one row. I also want to have regular left-right platformer movement as well. I have no idea what nodes to use, or even how to do any grid stuff.

2 Likes

First, let’s assume that you use a Tilemap as a Grid and a Sprite as a controller. Now you only need to set each Cell of the Tilemap, calculate the center position of each Cell, and then write a controller script to move the position of this Sprite node’s x and y to the center point of the cell.

2 Likes

No hablo complex Godot :laughing:
I’m VERY new to Godot, and I’m still trying to figure things out, so while I kind of understand what you’re trying to say, I have no idea how to do it.

1 Like

I don’t understand what’s not clear. First, you can use Tilemap, and second, write a control script for the sprite. Then calculate the center position of the tilemap cell, change the sprite’s position, and move it to this center position.

2 Likes

I don’t know how to set up a tile map or anything like that.

1 Like

This looks like just what I need, thanks!

2 Likes

I did the tutorial on grid based movement, but when I tried to add regular left-right movement to it, it would just return to where the character was last when moving up or down. I know this has to do with the position stuff, but I don’t know how to fix it.

1 Like

Ok, I’ve almost got it working, just one question: how do you set a movement command to move only the amount set to? (To explain, left/right movement = speed until left/right buttons are released, but I want up and down to be, up/down movement = up/down speed ONCE, until p/down button is pressed again.)

1 Like

Let me explain it a little better: I want to make it so that once you press up/down you move exactly the up/down amount, and does not move any further until up/down is pressed again.

1 Like